Who won the 2006 World Cup?

Italy won the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

It was the 18th edition of the competition and won by the European nation for a fourth time. Only Brazil (five) had become world champions on more occasions than Italy as of 2006.

Italy beat France on penalties in the final following a 1-1 draw after 90 minutes and extra-time. It was the second time the final had been settled in a penalty shootout, following Brazil’s success over Italy in 1994.

The final took place at the Olympiastadion in Berlin on 9 July 2006.


Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.