Who won the 1978 World Cup?

Argentina won the 1978 FIFA World Cup.

The South American nation were also the hosts of the tournament and was the 11th edition of the competition.

Argentina beat the Netherlands 3-1 after extra time in the final at the Estadio Monumental in Buenos Aires on 25 June 1978. It was the first time the nation had won the World Cup, whilst the consecutive time the Netherlands had been losing finalists, having been beaten four years earlier by hosts West Germany.


Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.