Who were the founding members of the English Football League?

Founded in 1888, the English Football League is the oldest such competition in world football.

The 1888–89 Football League was the inaugural edition. There were 12 founding members of the division as follows:

Aston Villa
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Derby County
Notts County
Preston North End
West Bromwich Albion
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Teams: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.