Who missed the final penalty in the 1994 World Cup final?

Roberto Baggio missed the final penalty in the shootout between Brazil and Italy that decided the winner of the 1994 FIFA World Cup in the United States.

The two nations were playing to become the first nation to be crowned champions for a fourth time. Brazil had become the first nation to have won the competition for a third time (1958, 1962, 1970), followed by Italy (1934, 1938, 1982) and later West Germany (1954, 1974, 1990).

With the score 0-0 after 90 minutes in front of more than 90,000 spectators at the Pasadena Rose Bowl in California the match went to extra time but still neither side could find a decisive goal.

This would become the first World Cup final to go to a penalty shootout. Italy centre-back Franco Baresi fired the first penalty over the crossbar, but Brazil failed to capitalise when Márcio Santos’ effort was saved by Gianluca Pagliuca.

The penalty shootout score was 2-2 when Italy’s Daniele Massaro saw his effort saved by Cláudio Taffarel. Brazil captain Carlos Dunga converted his next penalty, leaving Roberto Baggio in a must score situation. However, the 1993 third place FIFA World Player of the Year and Italian legend fired his penalty over the crossbar, handing the trophy to Brazil.

Teams: ,


Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.