Who hosted the 2006 World Cup?

Germany hosted the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

It was the 18th edition of the competition as the second time the European nation had hosted it (after 1974).

Italy won the tournament, beating France on penalties in the final at Olympiastadion in Berlin on 9 July 2006 following a 1-1 draw after 120 minutes. This was Italy’s fourth success, having previously been crowned world champions in 1934, 1938 and 1982.


Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.