Which players have been sent off in World Cup finals?

Five players have been sent off in FIFA World Cup finals.

Argentina’s Pedro Monzón was the first player to be sent off in a final when the defender was dismissed in the 65th minute of the 1990 edition. Argentina had been holding West Germany 0-0 at the time but fell behind to Andreas Brehme’s 85th minute penalty. Two minutes later, Argentina were reduced to nine men when Gustavo Dezotti received his marching orders in the same match.

Marcel Desailly became the first player dismissed from a winning team in the final. The centre-back was sent off in the 68th minute of the 1998 final with France leading Brazil 2-0 at the time. The hosts went on to win the game 3-0.

Fellow Frenchman, Zinedine Zidane was sent off in the 110th minute of the 2006 final. The score finished 0-0 after 120 minutes before Italy defeated 10 man France in a penalty shootout to decide the tournament.

The Netherlands were reduced to 10 men in extra-time of the 2010 World Cup final when centre-back Johnny Heitinga was shown his matching orders in the 109th minute with the score 0-0. Spain scored the only goal of the game seven minutes later to win the competition for the first time.

Teams: , ,

Players: , , , ,

Be the first to comment

Discuss this fact

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.